Haters Gonna Hate. Potatoes Gonna Potate.

The other day I was on the phone with a client who heard the protests outside my window and asked where I was. When I told her, she yelled, “OHMYGOD you’re INSANE!” In a very disapproving tone, she said, “Why are you in a different country every time I talk to you?!?”

For a second my mind went into a terrible spiral of negativity. Is she right? Am I insane? What is this crazy life I’m living? Who the hell do I think I am?

Then in the next breath she was telling me about how she still has to commute in the “wintry mix” because of, I gathered, office politics. And I thought, who’s the insane one now? Then I told her to go play in traffic. And now she’s not my client any more.

Kidding about the last part. But seriously. Enough with the lifestyle hate, ok?

2 thoughts on “Haters Gonna Hate. Potatoes Gonna Potate.

  1. Hmmm… perhaps your own questioning of your lifestyle made you hear a disapproving tone? Perhaps the tone was really jealousy?! Awe?! Total incomprehension at the cool, boldness of it all? That’s what I think the tone really was … that’s what mine will be on our next client call. xo

Leave a Reply

