Looking Up

When I lived in Detroit, looking down or even at eye-level was kind of a bummer. Lots of trash and weeds and sad-eyed people. But whenever I looked up, above my head, I would see beautiful, ornate buildings and cool hopeful graffiti. I took to heart the words of one of my favorite yoga teachers:

“You can either look to the shit, or you can look to the sugar.”

I made a very conscious effort to look to the sugar, AKA looking up, and it totally changed my relationship to the city.

In Buenos Aires, not looking down can be a little treacherous. The sidewalks are busted up and full of holes, and there is dog mess e-v-e-r-y-w-h-e-r-e. But sometimes I risk it, and last night this caught my eye:

2015-01-23 20.28.55

Isn’t it gorgeous? I’m still trying to figure out what it is (I think part of a university), but it really gave me goosebumps.

Look to the sugar, friends.

Leave a Reply

